Roy an “intellectual terrorist”

5 June 2007 at 10:16 am | Posted in Arundhati Roy, News, Sydney Peace Prize | Leave a comment

One of India’s largest political party, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has branded Indian author and 2004 Sydney Peace Prize winner Arundhati Roy an “intellectual terrorist”.

Responding to that, Roy told the Indian newspaper Deccan Herald “that’s the best and only acceptable form of terrorism – I like challenging the edifices of ideas. In fact, I take it as a complement.”

In an interview published on Sunday, Roy told the newspaper she is not an activist. “I am a writer and I am doing what a number of writers have done before me, that is show an interest in the world in which I live, try and figure out how it works and write about it in different ways.”

Activist, she said, “is a strange new word that sounds like some kind of strange chemical that you use in a lab experiment.”

Read the full interview here.

TrackBack URI

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

