Sydney Peace Prize Recipients

Welcome to the Sydney Peace Prize Recipients blog. This site is dedicated to the news and activities of all Sydney Peace Prize recipients.

The Sydney Peace Prize is awarded by the Sydney Peace Foundation, a not-for-profit organisation. The Prize is the only International Peace Prize awarded in Australia. This Prize has global significance in terms of the support and recognition given to leaders for peace. Each year, the Prize is awarded to an organisation or individual

* who has made significant contributions to global peace including improvements in personal security and steps towards eradicating poverty, and other forms of structural violence
* whose role and responsibilities enable the recipient to use the prize to further the cause of peace with justice
* whose work illustrates the philosophy and principles of non-violence
Sydney Peace Prize Recipients:

2007 Dr Hans Blix, Chairman Weapons of Mass Destruction Commission

2006 Irene Khan, Secretary General Amnesty International

2005Olara Otunnu, United Nations Under Secretary General for Children and Armed Conflict

2004 – Arundhati Roy, author and human rights campaigner

2003 – Dr Hanan Ashrawi, Founder and Secretary General of the Palestinian Initiative for the Promotion of Global Dialogue and Democracy (MIFTAH)

2002 – Mary Robinson, former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, former President of Ireland

2001 – Sir William Deane AC KBE, former Governor General of Australia

2000 – Xanana Gusmao, President of East Timor

1999 – Archbishop Desmond Tutu, former Chairman of South Africa’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission

1998 – Professor Muhammad Yunus, Founder of the Grameen Bank of Bangladesh


TrackBack URI

Blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: